Klang Valley sees the highest internal migration numbers because it is Peninsular Malaysia’s economic hotspot. There is not specific border designated to make up the Klang Valley. Though, it is always suggested that they include the following areas and their respective local authorities.


The district of Klang is situated in the western part of Selangor. It borders the district of Kuala Selangor in the north, Petaling in the east, Kuala Langat in the south, and Malacca in the west. The district was further divided into two mukim, Klang and Kapar, which occupy 626,78 square kilometres of land with a coastline of 53,75 km.


The Gombak District was formed on 1 February 1974, the same day that Kuala Lumpur was declared a Federal Territory. Rawang was the capital of the district until 1997; the capital had been transferred to Bandar Baru Selayang. Gombak borders Kuala Lumpur to the south-east and Genting Highlands to the east.

Hulu Langat

The Hulu Langat district is situated in the southeast corner of Selangor, between Kuala Lumpur and Negeri Sembilan. Hulu Langat is the fifth largest district in the State of Selangor with an area of 840 square kilometres. It has a combination of urban and rural settlements with the bulk of the population living in towns near Kuala Lumpur.


The district of Sepang is situated in the southern part of the state of Selangor, Malaysia. The district of Sepang covers an area of about 600 square kilometres. It shares its boundary with Kuala Langat to the west, Petaling to the north, Hulu Langat to the northeast, and Negeri Sembilan to the east. Sepang also surrounds Putrajaya, which is the Federal Territory.

Kuala Langat

The district of Kuala Langat is located in the southwestern part of Selangor. It occupies an area of 858 square kilometres. It borders the districts of Klang and Petaling to the north and Sepang to the east. The Malacca Strait forms its western boundary. The major cities of Kuala Langat include Banting, Jugra, Teluk Datok, Morib and Carey Island.